NSW Elections
Site Links
1894 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Kahibah - 1894 (Roll: 2,131)
Won by Ind Labor
Nominations: Thursday, 12 July 1894
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Case, William Ind Free Trade 70 3.68
Edden, Alfred (Re-elected) Ind Labor 1,041 54.73
Errington, George Labor Party 355 18.66
Gorrick, Joseph Albert Ind Free Trade 31 1.63
Penman, John Independent 364 19.14
Williams, William Independent 41 2.16
Formal Votes 1,902
Informal Votes 37 1.91
Total Votes / Turnout 1,939 90.99
Notes: Edden was a sitting MP for Northumberland. In 'Civilising Capitalism', Bede Nairn lists Edden as one of the re-elected non-solidarity Labor candidates (p120 and footnote). He does not make the SMH selected lists (16 July), is listed as Independent Labor in the Australian Workman, while the Worker lists him as Labor until 30 June and a modified pledge Labor candidate in the 7 July Brisbane Worker. The label adopted here is Independent Labor. Errington appeared as a selected Labor candidate in the SMH, but did not appear in any issue of the Workman or Worker by 7 July. He has been listed as a Labor candidate additional to the Australian Workman listings.