NSW Elections
Site Links
1880 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Queanbeyan - By-election (Roll: 1,712)
Nominations: Monday, 24 January 1881, Polling: Thursday, 27 January 1881
Candidate Votes Votes %
Gale, John 76 7.67
Hodgkinson, Percy Clement 413 41.68
Rutledge, Thomas (Elected) 502 50.66
Formal Votes 991
Informal Votes 27 2.65
Total Votes / Turnout 1,018 59.46
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: JB Thompson resigned, reasons unknown.
Source: Results from Goulburn Evening Penny Post, 1 February 1881, p.4 col.2-3, sourcing figures from the Queanbeyan Age. Relevant issues of Queanbeyan Age do not exist in the NSW State Library microfilm collection. Incomplete totals published in the SMH 28 January 1881, p.5 col.6, with declaration of poll reported 29 January, p.5 col.6, but only winning margin of 89 votes is given. SMH totals also published in Town and Country Journal, 29 January, p.208 col.3, though this report stated that the Gundaroo booth was yet to report. Goulburn paper clearly had the best report.