NSW Elections
Site Links
1877 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Mudgee - By-election (Roll: 4,106)
Nominations: Monday, 30 December 1878, Polling: Monday, 6 January 1879
Candidate Votes Votes %
Buchanan, David 894 49.97
Rouse, Richard (Elected) 895 50.03
Formal Votes 1,789
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 1,789 43.57
Cause Category: LC Appointment
Notes: Resignation of John Robertson. His resignation facilitated the coalition government that was to form between Parkes and Robertson, with Robertson appointed to the Legislative Council. (Based on Robertson's ADB entry). This by-election result was overturned by the Elections and Qualifications Committee on 7 March 1879.
Source: SMH, nominations 4 January 1879, p.5 col.3, results 8 January, p.5 col.5.