NSW Elections
Site Links
1874-5 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Murrumbidgee - 1874-5 (Roll: 3,008)
Nominations: Tuesday, 22 December 1874, Polling: Saturday, 2 January 1875
Candidate Votes Votes %
Bardwell, Charles Darby 68 6.73
Forster, William (Elected) 559 55.29
Leary, Joseph 384 37.98
Mate, Thomas Hodges 0 0.00
Formal Votes 1,011
Informal Votes 13 1.27
Total Votes / Turnout 1,024 34.04
Persons Voting / Turnout 1,024 34.04
Notes: Sitting MP William Macleay Jnr did not re-contest. William Forster had been MP for Illawarra, but did not re-contest that seat, defeated in both East Sydney and Queanbeyan before winning Murrumbidgee. The reports of nominations refer to T H Mate being nominated. He was missing from all results, but a ballot paper from the election that somehow managed to survive until 2006 at the State Electoral Office proves that he actually appeared on the ballot paper.
Source: Report of nominations, SMH 26 December 1874, p.7 col.4-5. Results from Wagga Wagga Advertiser, 9 January 1875, p.3 col.1. SMH totals published 9 January, p.8 col.6, had Leary on 385, but Advertiser report matches Statistical Register.