NSW Elections
Site Links
1864-5 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Balranald - 1864-5 (Roll: 1,061)
Nominations: Thursday, 15 December 1864, Polling: Wednesday, 18 January 1865 (No poll held)
Candidate Votes Votes %
Phelps, Joseph James (Elected) Elected unopposed
Notes: Sitting MP Augustus Morris informed his electorate (SMH 14 November 1864, p.2 col.2) that he would not re-contest this seat because he did not support the Riverina seperation movement. He was then enticed into contesting Camden.
Source: Empire, 16 December, p. 5, col.1