NSW Elections
Site Links
1941 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Georges River - 1941 (Roll: 23,371)
Labor Party gain from United Australia
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Monro, Cecil Owen James (Defeated) United Australia 9,190 42.53
Williams, Arthur John Leonard (Re-elected) Labor Party 12,417 57.47
Formal Votes 21,607
Informal Votes 393 1.79
Total Votes / Turnout 22,000 94.13
Notes: A.J.L.Williams was the sitting MP for Ryde, having been elected at a 1940 by-election. His seat had been radically re-drawn by the redistribution.