NSW Elections
Site Links
1882 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Argyle - By-election (Roll: 2,912)
Nominations: Friday, 27 March 1885, Polling: Tuesday, 31 March 1885
Candidate Votes Votes %
Osborne, John 775 48.71
Parkes, Henry (Elected) 816 51.29
Formal Votes 1,591
Informal Votes 41 2.51
Total Votes / Turnout 1,632 56.04
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: Resignation of John Thomas Gannon due to ill health. Parkes re-entered Parliament less than five months after announcing his final retirement from politics when resigning as MP for Tenterfield.
Source: For nominations see SMH 28 March 1885, p.9 col.1-4, also in Goluburn Evening Penny Post, 28 March p.3 col.1-2, with addresses by Osborne p.4 and Parkes p.7. Totals from SMH 1 April 1885, p.5 col.1, includes booth results, same totals including informal votes in Goulburn Evening Penny Post, 2 April, p.2 col.2.