NSW Elections
Site Links
1874-5 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Queanbeyan - 1874-5 (Roll: 1,248)
Nominations: Monday, 21 December 1874, Polling: Wednesday, 23 December 1874
Candidate Votes Votes %
Forster, William 354 41.50
Wright, John James (Elected) 455 53.34
O'Neill, William Gregg 44 5.16
Formal Votes 853
Informal Votes 16 1.84
Total Votes / Turnout 869 69.63
Persons Voting / Turnout 869 69.63
Notes: Sitting MP L W F De Salis did not re-contest. William Forster was MP for Illawarra in the old Parliament but had previously represented Queanbeyan. At the 1874-5 election, Forster had already been defeated contesting East Sydney, did not re-contest Illawarra and was subsequently elected for Murrumbidgee. Informal votes taken from Queanbeyan Age report, suggesting total votes in Statistical Register included informal votes.
Source: Queanbeyan Age, 25 December 1874, p.2 col.3-5. Totals published SMH 24 December 1874, p.7 col.2 were not complete and also did not report O'Neill as a candidate.