NSW Elections
Site Links
1981 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Northern Tablelands - 1981 (Roll: 32,245)
Labor Party gain from National Country Party
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
McCarthy, William John Patrick (Re-elected) Labor Party 15,474 52.89
Tregurtha, John Stuart National Country Party 13,782 47.11
Formal Votes 29,256
Informal Votes 468 1.57
Total Votes / Turnout 29,724 92.18
Notes: New electorate with a notional NCP majority that took in much of the abolished electorates of Tenterfield and Armidale. Tenterfield NCP MP J.C.Bruxner retired while Armidale Labor MP Bill McCarthy contested this electorate.