NSW Elections
Site Links
1971 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Burwood - 1971 (Roll: 27,185)
Retained by Liberal Party
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Doig, Benjamin Cochrane Ind Liberal 3,091 12.78
Jackett, John Gordon Thorne (Re-elected) Liberal Party 12,476 51.57
Mundey, John Bernard Socialist Alternative 441 1.82
O'Neill, Phillip Joseph Labor Party 8,184 33.83
Formal Votes 24,192
Informal Votes 633 2.55
Total Votes / Turnout 24,825 91.32
Corrections: Doig was the former sitting Liberal MP for Burwood and is shown here as an Independent Liberal in line with Mackerras (1973), where Hughes (1981) lists him as an Independent. Mackerras lists Mundey as a Communist where Hughes lists him as a Socialist Alternative candidate.