NSW Elections
Site Links
1927 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
St George - 1927 (Roll: 16,927)
Retained by Labor Party
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Cahill, John Joseph (Re-elected) Labor Party 8,137 55.86
Morrish, James John Nationalist 6,430 44.14
Formal Votes 14,567
Informal Votes 138 0.94
Total Votes / Turnout 14,705 86.87
Notes: Cahill was a sitting Labor MP for the multi-member electorate of St George. Morrish started his political career as a Socialist candidate in 1901 and later served as Labor then Nationalist MP for King 1910-17.