NSW Elections
Site Links
1904 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Murrumbidgee - 1904 (Roll: 8,111)
Won by Labor Party
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Campbell, Thomas Irving Independent 523 10.22
Fitzpatrick, Thomas (Defeated) Progressive 1,495 29.20
Humby, Alfred George Independent 116 2.27
McGarry, Patrick (Elected) Labor Party 1,538 30.04
Smith, Alick Liberal Party 1,447 28.27
Formal Votes 5,119
Informal Votes 53 1.02
Total Votes / Turnout 5,172 63.77
Notes: Sitting MP for Wagga Wagga J Gormly was appointed to the Legislative Council. Campbell was identified by the Daily Telegraph on 5 August as one of the candidates splitting the anti-government vote.