NSW Elections
Site Links
1894 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Quirindi - 1894 (Roll: 1,619)
Won by Protectionist
Nominations: Thursday, 12 July 1894
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Agassiz, A J C Free Trade 33 2.49
Grehan, T S Ind Free Trade 17 1.28
Hawker, W Ind Protectionist 220 16.60
Levien, Robert Henry (Re-elected) Protectionist 635 47.92
McKillop, Ramsay Labor Party 420 31.70
Formal Votes 1,325
Informal Votes 101 7.08
Total Votes / Turnout 1,426 88.08
Notes: Levien was a sitting MP for Tamworth. Hawker was variously included in general candidate lists as Labor, Protectionist Labor or Protectionist. The affiliation Independent Protectionist has been adopted here.
Corrections: Hughes and Graham (1975) listed Hawker as an Independent Labor candidate.