NSW Elections
Site Links
How to Navigate using the Districts Index
The Districts Index Home Page
This page contains an entry for every unique name used for an electoral district since 1856. Districts are listed in alphabetic order and can be accessed using the Letter Links across the top of the page. The 'top of page' links dotted through the page can be used to return to the top of the Districts Index Home Page.
First Election, Last Election and Number of Elections
This line shows the election where the district was first used and the election where the district was most recently used. Note that a district may not have been used at all elections between these two dates. A total is provided of the number of times this district has faced an election. This total includes both general elections and by-elections. The total also includes both contested and uncontested elections.
Standard and Contemporary Names
The District Index Pages all use standardised district names, the conventions of which are outlined below. However, results for all districts, and links in individual election indexes, all use the form of the district name in use at the time of the election. Not that in the case of some abolished districts (e.g. Condoublin), spelling does not correspond to the modern form.
Versions of District Names
The spelling of some election districts has changed over the years. Many districts such as Clarence were once known as The Clarence, while districts such as Monaro have changed spelling several times. Under older geographic conventions, some districts such as Cooks River were once known as Cook's River. Apostrophes have been ignored.
Use of 'The'
The only electorates where the use of the definite article 'The' have been retained are The Entrance and The Hills, where dropping the article makes no sense. The Entrance and The Hills have been sorted under 't', while all other districts appear under the first letter of the name that followed 'The'..
The Use of Directional Modifiers (East, West, Upper, etc)
Over the years, many districts have used directional modifiers as part of their name. The use has not always been consistent, for example, East Maitland sometimes gazetted as Maitland East. On the District Index pages, the following usage has been adopted
  • East Sydney, West Sydney, South Sydney and North Sydney have been indexed including the directional modifier. So East Sydney appears under 'e', and so on.
  • All other place names with a directional modifier have been indexed under their place name. This applies to Camden East/West, Maitland East/West, Macquarie East/West, Moreton East/West, Newcastle East/West and the three Gold Fields seats.
  • Some older directional qualifiers have been treated as part of the district name. So Central Cumberland is indexed under 'Ce', Lower Hunter under 'L' and Upper Hunter under 'u'.
  • General geographic names incorporating directional qualifiers have been indexed under the direction. This applies to district names such as East Hills, South Coast, Western Suburbs, Northern Tablelands, Southern Highlands and North-Eastern Boroughs. 
  • Older forms such as the County of Argyle, Town of Parramatta and Pastoral Districts of Wellington and Bligh have been shortened to Argyle, Parramatta, Wellington and Bligh. There are a small number that have retained this distinction, such as Stanley Borough and Stanley County, Wellington County to distinguish from Wellington and Bligh, and Sydney City as distinct from Sydney Hamlets. The unweildy Eastern and Western Divisions of the County of Camden have been shortened to Camden East and Camden West. Bathurst County has been retained, as the district did not at the time include the town of Bathurst. 
Linking to District Election Pages
From the District Index page, you can link through to an index of all the elections for a district. This page shows the date on which the candidate was declared elected, the name of the elected candidate, their party and their percentage of the primary vote. In the case of multi-member districts, candidates are listed in the order they were declared elected. By-elections are shown with (by) after the date of election. Candidates were declared elected on the date of nomination in uncontested districts, and the date of the poll in contested districts. Between 1910 and 1920, a small number of candidates were declared elected on the date of the second ballot. The link behind the date of election can be clicked to move to the detail of the election for this district.