NSW Elections
Site Links
1962 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Bligh - 1962 (Roll: 24,638)
Labor Party gain from Liberal Party
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Markham, James Robert D.L.P. 1,012 4.54
Morey, Thomas Irving (Elected) Labor Party 11,186 50.17
Treatt, Vernon Haddon (Defeated) Liberal Party 10,098 45.29
Formal Votes 22,296
Informal Votes 411 1.81
Total Votes / Turnout 22,707 92.16
Notes: New seat created from the abolished electorates of Woollahra and Paddington-Waverley. The Labor MP for Paddington-Waverley, K.W.Anderson, was defeated for Labor Party pre-selection. Vernon Treatt was the sitting Liberal MP for the abolished electorate of Woollahra.