NSW Elections
Site Links
1930 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Annandale - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Retained by Labor Party
Nominations: Saturday, 18 April 1931, Polling: Saturday, 25 April 1931
Not contested by both major parties
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Meatheringham, Harry David Independent 428 3.30
Morrison, William John Communist 423 3.27
Simpson, Martha Mildred Independent 3,237 24.99
Stuart-Robertson, Robert James (Re-elected) Labor Party 8,864 68.44
Formal Votes 12,952
Informal Votes 933 6.72
Total Votes / Turnout 13,885 0.00
Cause Category: Bankrupt/Insolvent
Notes: The seat was declared vacant on 9 April 1931 when sitting MP Robert James Stuart-Robertson was declared bankrupt. He re-contested and won the by-election. There was some controversy over using Anzac Day for the by-election. Twomey (p.426) makes references to a subsequent court case on whether parliamentary salaries could be made subject to orders by an official receiver.
Source: Nominations SMH 20 April 1931, p.11 col.8, results 28 April, p.14 col.1.