NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Willoughby - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Retained by Liberal Party
Nominations: Friday, 4 September 1903, Polling: Wednesday, 9 September 1903
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Hutton, Sydney Edward Labor Party 1,079 36.43
Wade, Charles Gregory (Elected) Liberal Party 1,883 63.57
Formal Votes 2,962
Informal Votes 12 0.40
Total Votes / Turnout 2,974 0.00
Cause Category: Bankrupt/Insolvent
Notes: Caused by the resignation of George Howarth after he was declared bankrupt. (Rydon Spann and Nelson)
Source: SMH 11 September 1903, p.10 col.2, published declaration by Returning Officer.