NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Waratah - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Retained by Labor Party
Nominations: Friday, 27 November 1903, Polling: Saturday, 5 December 1903
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Charlton, Matthew (Elected) Labor Party 1,085 67.64
Gilbert, John - 519 32.36
Formal Votes 1,604
Informal Votes 9 0.56
Total Votes / Turnout 1,613 0.00
Cause Category: Resignation - Federal contest
Notes: Arthur Griffith resigned to unsuccessfully contest the Senate at the 1903 federal election. Note that the by-election was held before the federal election, denying Griffith the chance to re-contest. (Rydon, Spann and Nelson) Griffith was the only non-resident Newcastle Labor MP, and his switch to the Senate was arranged to solve unhappiness in local Labor branches. (Bowden, 'The Hunter', p.65, in Hagan (2006), 'People and Politics in Regional New South Wales)
Source: Newcastle Herald, 7 December 1903, p.5 col.7. SMH 7 December, p.6 col.5, had a slightly different result with Charlton on 1086. Published declaration by the returning officer not found.