NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Newtown-St Peters - 1901 (Roll: 3,627)
Won by Ind Liberal
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Arnold, Walter Independent 4 0.18
Clark, George Daniel Labor Party 770 34.15
Fallick, James (Elected) Ind Liberal 790 35.03
Hayes, David Independent 16 0.71
Mitchell, James Brown Ind Progressive 13 0.58
Rigg, William (Defeated) Liberal Party 662 29.36
Formal Votes 2,255
Informal Votes 20 0.88
Total Votes / Turnout 2,275 62.72
Notes: In the publication of results, the SMH lists Fallick as an Independent Liberal, while the Daily Telegraph lists him as an Independent. Given Fallick's subsequent career as a Liberal member, the SMH classification has been used here.