NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Newtown-Camperdown - 1901 (Roll: 3,490)
Won by Ind Progressive
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Bellemey, Richard Thomas Ind Liberal 165 7.63
Clegg, William Carnegie Ind Liberal 382 17.67
Heaton, Samuel Joseph John Labor Party 270 12.49
Probert, Thomas Liberal Party 562 25.99
Smith, James Francis (Elected) Ind Progressive 759 35.11
Thomson, Andrew Socialist 24 1.11
Formal Votes 2,162
Informal Votes 22 1.01
Total Votes / Turnout 2,184 62.58
Notes: Classifications based on Daily Telegraph results listing. Note that the Telegraph listed Smith as a supporter of the Ministry in its list of elected MPs, but not as a successful selected Ministerial candidate, 4 July 1901, p.7 col.1-2.