NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Deniliquin - 1901 (Roll: 2,784)
Won by Ind Progressive
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Eames, Richard Joseph Ind Progressive 293 18.98
Evans, Joseph George (Elected) Ind Progressive 452 29.27
Fagan, Patrick Ind Progressive 219 14.18
Lakeman, Allen Ind Progressive 101 6.54
Lewis, John Ind Liberal 331 21.44
McKinney, Hugh Giffen Independent 148 9.59
Formal Votes 1,544
Informal Votes 19 1.22
Total Votes / Turnout 1,563 56.14
Notes: Sitting MP JM Chanter had been elected MHR for Riverina at the first Commonwealth election in March. The SMH classified all candidates as Independents. The classifications adopted here are based on Daily Telegraph results, 4 July pp.6-7. In particular, Evans was classified as an elected supporter of the Ministry, 4 July p.7 col.1, but he was not in the list of successful selected Ministerial candidates published on the same page.