NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Condoublin - 1901 (Roll: 2,771)
Won by Labor Party
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Clara, Patrick James (Elected) Labor Party 575 36.07
Nash, William Michael Independent 96 6.02
Stewart, Andrew Independent 560 35.13
Tasker, David Henry Ind Liberal 268 16.81
Wilkinson, William Boyce Independent 95 5.96
Formal Votes 1,594
Informal Votes 11 0.69
Total Votes / Turnout 1,605 57.92
Notes: Sitting Labor MP Thomas Brown had been elected MHR for Canobolas at the first Commonwealth election in March. The Elections and Qualifications Committee conducted a re-count on appeal and produced the total Clara 575, Stewart 559, Tasker 268, Nash 96, Wilkinson 94, Informal 9. The election was overturned because of other irregularities in its conduct and a by-election held. (LAVP 1901 Vol.1 p.725) The SMH classified Tasker as an Independent in its election results while the Daily Telegraph described him as an un-selected Opposition supporter.