NSW Elections
Site Links
1889 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Wentworth - 1889 (Roll: 1,447)
Won by Protectionist
Nominations: Thursday, 31 January 1889, Polling: Wednesday, 13 February 1889 (No poll held)
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Abbott, Joseph Palmer (Re-elected) Protectionist Elected unopposed
Notes: The old two-member district of Wentworth was split into three single-member districts for the 1889 election, Sturt, Wentworth and Wilcannia. Abbott also nominated for East Sydney, nominations closing on the same day, but he was declared elected in this seat as the only candidate before the poll for East Sydney took place.