NSW Elections
Site Links
1869-70 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Yass Plains - 1869-70 (Roll: 1,646)
Nominations: Monday, 20 December 1869, Polling: Friday, 24 December 1869 (No poll held)
Candidate Votes Votes %
Fitzpatrick, Michael (Elected) Elected unopposed
Notes: Sitting MP R M Isaacs did not re-contest. At the nominations, Arthur Remmington nominated local identity and former MP Thomas Laidlaw, but Fitzpatrick was declared elected unopposed as the Returning Officer would not accept that a list of six people calling for a poll qualified under the electoral act. Remmington objected in a letter to the SMH, 24 December, p.5 col.6. The Returning Officer stated his reasons for refusing a poll in a response, SMH 28 December, which also included a letter from Laidlaw objecting to having been nominated in his absence, also calling for the electoral act to be amended to stop this happening. A further report from the Southern Argus is published SMH 29 December, p.3 col.5. Remmington lodged an objection to the election, claiming Fitzpatrick was not eligible to be elected, and also that a poll should have been called for. See Elections and Qualifications Committee report, LAVP 1870, Vol A1 p.397.
Source: Report of nominations, SMH 22 December 1869, p.5 col.1.