NSW Elections
Site Links
1860 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Windsor - 1860 (Roll: 637)
Nominations: Friday, 21 December 1860, Polling: Saturday, 22 December 1860
Candidate Votes Votes %
Byrnes, James 198 47.37
Walker, William (Re-elected) 220 52.63
Formal Votes 418
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 418 65.62
Persons Voting / Turnout 418 65.62
Notes: Byrnes was a sitting MP for Parramatta. He had already been elected for Parramatta, but was unhappy at having been elected to only the junior seat in that two-member district, and made his views clear to constituents at the declaration of the poll. So seemingly unhappy at representing Parrammatta, he contested Windsor unsuccessfully before resigning as MP for Parramatta in the new year.
Source: SMH, 26 December, p.5 col.1
Corrections: Byrnes is not shown as a sitting MP, even though he was MP for Parrammatta at the time of this election.