NSW Elections
Site Links
1860 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Tumut - By-election (Roll: 1,007)
Nominations: Tuesday, 10 November 1863, Polling: Monday, 16 November 1863
Candidate Votes Votes %
Martin, James (Elected) 393 72.24
O'Connell, C D 151 27.76
Formal Votes 544
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 544 54.02
Persons Voting / Turnout 544 54.02
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: Charles Cowper Jnr resigned to contest the ministerial by-election in Orange against new Premier James Martin. Cowper won the contest, with Martin then winning this seat at the subsequent by-election.
Source: Report of nominations, SMH 16 November 1863, p.5 col.5-6, with results from SMH 17 November, p.4 p.5, which appears to be the final result. Both reports sourced from Wynyard Times.