INQUIRY INTO THE PRIVATISATION OF PRISONS AND PRISON-RELATED SERVICES

Organisation:

International Commission of Jurists (ICJA), Australian Section

Name:

Mr Steve Mark

Position:

Chairperson

Date received:

6/03/2009



INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF JURISTS



5 March 2009

The Director General Purpose Standing Committee No.3 Parliament House Macquarie St Sydney NSW 2000

SUBMISSION TO THE INQUIRY INTO THE PRIVATISATION OF PRISONS AND PRISON-RELATED SERVICES

The Australian Section of the International Commission of Jurists (ICJA) submits that the prison system is a core function of a democratic government. It is the responsibility of government to ensure that appropriate human rights standards are applied and maintained. Government must continue to have the ultimate responsibility and liability for those incarcerated as well as those working within the prison system. This function cannot and should not be delegated by a private contract.

The ICJA supports the submission of the Community Justice Coalition.

Yours faithfully, ICJ AUSTRALIA

Steve Mark Chairperson I AUSTRALIA GPO Box 173 Sydney NSW 2001

> Australia +61 (0)2 9266 0950 +61 (0)2 9266 0742 e⊠ info@ICJ-Aust.org.au

www.ICJ-Aust.org.AU

ICJ GENEVA

President

Former President of Ireland

Secretary-General Nicholas Howen

ICJ Vice-President & Australian Commissioner The Hon John Dowd AO QC

Australian Commissioner The Hon Justice Elizabeth Evatt AC

ICJ AUSTRALIA

NATIONAL SECTION

President The Hon John Dowd AO QC

National Vice-President

The Hon Justice David Malcolm AC

Chairperson Steve Mark

Legal Services Commissioner, NSW

Secretary-General

David Bitel

Assistant Secretary-General

Tahlia Gordon

Treasurer Tahlia Gordon

STATE BRANCH PRESIDENTS **Australian Capital Territory**

The Hon Jeffrey Miles Former Chief Justice ACT

New South Wales

Judge John O'Meally AM RFD President Dust Diseases Tribunal of NSW

> **Northern Territory** Mr Colin McDonald QC

William Forster Chambers, NT

Queensland

The Hon Justice Atkinson Supreme Court of Queensland

South Australia

The Hon Justice Bleby Supreme Court of SA

Tasmania

The Hon Justice Blow OAM Supreme Court of Tasmania

Victoria

Glenn McGowan SC

Western Australia

The Hon Justice Nicholson AO Federal Court of Australia, WA