

Legislative Council Standing Committee on Law and Justice

Inquiry into Community Based Sentencing Options for Rural and Remote Areas in NSW and Special Need/Disadvantaged Populations

LAW AND JUSTICE COMMITTEE TO VISIT GRIFFITH ON 27 JUNE 2005

The Chair of the Law and Justice Committee, the Hon Christine Robertson MLC has announced further details of consultations to be held in Griffith on 27 June 2005, including a general public hearing and public meeting, as part of the Committee's inquiry into community based sentencing options for rural and remote areas and special need/disadvantaged populations in New South Wales. The membership of the Committee and terms of reference for this inquiry are attached.

The public meeting will be held from 2pm to 4pm at the Burley Griffin Room, 1 Neville Place, Griffith and everyone is welcome. If you would like to attend please contact the Secretariat to register before the meeting, although people who don't register will still be able to attend. There will be an opportunity to chat over a cup of tea during the break.

The public hearing will be held from 10am until 1pm at the Burley Griffin Room. Members of the public are welcome to attend to observe the hearing. If people wish to speak at the hearing further information can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat.

"The Law and Justice Committee has been asked by the Attorney General to inquire into whether it is appropriate and in the public interest to tailor community based sentencing options for rural and remote areas in NSW and for disadvantaged populations. The Committee has also been asked to address a number of specific issues, including the impact of the availability or otherwise of community based sentencing options upon rural and remote communities." said Ms Robertson.

"The public hearing and meeting will provide an opportunity for people to have their say and be part of the inquiry and policy making process. At the conclusion of the inquiry, the Committee will make recommendations on whether it is appropriate and in the public interest to tailor community based sentencing for rural and remote areas such as Griffith and if so how this can be done. The Government is required to respond to these recommendations within 6 months" said Ms Robertson.

If people wish to participate in the hearing or meeting, further information can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat on tel (02) 9230 3311, fax (02) 9230 3371, e-mail: lawandjustice@parliament.nsw.gov.au or website: www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/lawandjustice. A discussion paper raising a number of issues for consideration is also available from website or the Secretariat. People can also keep up-to-date with inquiry progress on the website.



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LAW AND JUSTICE

INQUIRY INTO COMMUNITY BASED SENTENCING OPTIONS FOR RURAL AND REMOTE AREAS AND SPECIAL NEED/DISADVANTAGED POPULATIONS

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1) That the Standing Committee on Law and Justice inquire into and report on whether it is appropriate and in the public interest to tailor community based sentencing options for rural and remote areas in NSW and for special need/disadvantaged populations, including:
 - (a) The perceived benefits and disadvantages of community based sentencing options including Periodic Detention, Intensive Supervision Programs (Home Detention eg Drug Court) and Community Supervision Orders.
 - (b) The relationship between different Intensive Supervision Programs Home Detention and Periodic Detention (Stage 1 and 2).
 - (c) The impact of the availability of Intensive Supervision Programs upon rural and remote communities
 - (d) The place of Periodic Detention within a spectrum of community based sentencing options utilising intensive supervision.
 - (e) The criteria for eligibility for community based sentencing options.
 - (f) The experience of other jurisdictions in implementing community based sentencing options.
- 2) Any other related matter.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The Hon Christine Robertson MLC (Chair)
(Australian Labor Party)

The Hon Amanda Fazio MLC (Australian Labor Party)

The Hon Eric Roozendaal MLC (Australian Labor Party)

The Hon Greg Pearce MLC (Deputy Chair) (Liberal Party)

The Hon David Clarke MLC (Liberal Party)

Ms Lee Rhiannon MLC (The Greens)