

Legislative Council Standing Committee on Law and Justice

LAW AND JUSTICE COMMITTEE ANNOUNCES 3rd REVIEW OF THE LIFETIME CARE AND SUPPORT AUTHORITY AND 10th REVIEW OF THE MOTOR ACCIDENT AUTHORITY

The Hon Christine Robertson MLC, Chair of the NSW Parliament's Standing Committee on Law and Justice, today announced the commencement of the Committee's 3rd review of the Lifetime Care and Support Authority and the 10th review of the Motor Accidents Authority. The Committee is conducting the reviews concurrently and is calling for public submissions for both.

The Lifetime Care and Support Authority (LTCSA) was established in July 2006. It is a statutory body that administers the Lifetime Care and Support Scheme, which provides treatment, rehabilitation and care to people severely injured in motor accidents in NSW. The LTCS Scheme is funded by a levy on compulsory third party (CTP) insurance premiums. The review also covers the Lifetime Care and Support Advisory Council (LTCSAC), which provides advice to the Minister on matters relating to the scheme.

The Motor Accidents Authority (MAA) is the statutory body charged with overseeing the operation of the CTP motor accident insurance and compensation scheme in NSW. The Motor Accidents Council (MAC) is the stakeholder body that advises the MAA.

"The Lifetime Care and Support Scheme was set up to ensure that people who are catastrophically injured in motor accidents receive necessary care and support for the rest of their lives, regardless of who was at fault in the accident. It has been running for over three and a half years now and our Committee will be examining how well the Authority is fulfilling its role and assisting its clients," Ms Robertson said.

"The Committee reviewed the performance of the MAA annually until 2008, when it decided that biennial reviews were sufficient. This, our tenth review, is therefore the first review of the MAA since 2008," Ms Robertson said.

The Committee is seeking a broad range of views from the public about the effectiveness of the LTCSA and the MAA. Submissions are due by Wednesday 21 April 2010.

Further information about the reviews can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat on telephone (02) 9230 3311, fax (02) 9230 2981 or e-mail: lawandjustice@parliament.nsw.gov.au. Further information, including the terms of reference for the reviews, is available from the Committee's website: <u>www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/lawandjustice</u>.

For further comment please contact the Hon Christine Robertson MLC, Committee Chair, on 0428674310 or 9230 2971