

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LAW AND JUSTICE

MEDIA RELEASE

LATEST REVIEWS INTO THE MOTOR ACCIDENT AUTHORITY AND LIFETIME CARE AND SUPPORT AUTHORITY ANNOUNCED

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 11 September 2013

The Hon David Clarke MLC, Chair of the NSW Parliament's Standing Committee on Law and Justice, today announced the commencement of the Committee's 12th Review of the Motor Accidents Authority and Fifth Review of the Lifetime Care and Support Authority. The Committee is conducting the reviews concurrently and is calling for public submissions for both.

The Motor Accidents Authority (MAA) is the statutory body charged with overseeing the operation of the compulsory third party (CTP) motor accident insurance and compensation scheme in NSW. "The Committee has undertaken the important responsibility of monitoring and reviewing the exercise and functions of the MAA since 1999" Mr Clarke said.

The Lifetime Care and Support Authority (LTCSA) is a statutory body that administers the Lifetime Care and Support Scheme. Mr Clarke stated, "the Lifetime Care and Support Scheme was set up to ensure that people who are catastrophically injured in motor accidents receive necessary care and support for the rest of their lives, regardless of who was at fault in the accident. It has been running for almost seven years now and our Committee will be examining how well the Authority is fulfilling its role and assisting its clients."

The Committee is seeking a broad range of views from the public about the effectiveness of the MAA and the LTCSA. Submissions are due by Friday 1 November 2013. Please note the terms of reference prevent the Committee from investigating individual participants or applications for participation in the Schemes.

Further information about the reviews can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat via telephone (02) 9230 3543, fax (02) 9230 2981, e-mail: lawandjustice@parliament.nsw.gov.au, or on the Committee's website: www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/lawandjustice.

For further comment please contact
The Hon David Clarke MLC, Committee Chair, on
9230 2260 or 0419 247 661