22 June 2011



Legislative Council Standing Committee on Law and Justice

LAW AND JUSTICE COMMITTEE ANNOUNCES 4th REVIEW OF THE LIFETIME CARE AND SUPPORT AUTHORITY AND 11th REVIEW OF THE MOTOR ACCIDENT AUTHORITY

The Hon David Clarke MLC, Chair of the NSW Parliament's Standing Committee on Law and Justice, today announced the commencement of the Committee's 4th Review of the Lifetime Care and Support Authority and the 11th Review of the Motor Accidents Authority. The Committee is conducting the reviews concurrently and is calling for public submissions for both.

The Lifetime Care and Support Authority (LTCSA) was established in July 2006. It is a statutory body that administers the Lifetime Care and Support Scheme, which provides treatment, rehabilitation and care to people severely injured in motor accidents in NSW. The LTCS Scheme is funded by a levy on compulsory third party (CTP) insurance premiums. The review also covers the Lifetime Care and Support Advisory Council (LTCSAC), which provides advice to the Minister on matters relating to the scheme.

The Motor Accidents Authority (MAA) is the statutory body charged with overseeing the operation of the CTP motor accident insurance and compensation scheme in NSW. The Motor Accidents Council (MAC) is the stakeholder body that advises the MAA.

"The role of the Committee is to monitor and review the exercise by the MAA and MAC of their functions," Mr Clarke said.

In relation to the LTCS Scheme, Mr Clarke stated," The Lifetime Care and Support Scheme was set up to ensure that people who are catastrophically injured in motor accidents receive necessary care and support for the rest of their lives, regardless of who was at fault in the accident. It has been running for over four and a half years now and our Committee will be examining how well the Authority is fulfilling its role and assisting its clients."

The Committee is seeking a broad range of views from the public about the effectiveness of the MAA and the LTCSA. Submissions are due by Wednesday 10 August 2011.

Further information about the reviews can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat on telephone (02) 9230 3509, fax (02) 9230 2981 or e-mail: lawandjustice@parliament.nsw.gov.au.

Further information, including the terms of reference for the reviews, is available from the Committee's website:

www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/lawandjustice.

For further comment please contact the Hon David Clarke MLC, Committee Chair, on 9230 2375