## Legislative Council Standing Committee on Law and Justice

## LAW AND JUSTICE COMMITTEE RELEASES REPORT ON ITS SEVENTH REVIEW OF THE MOTOR ACCIDENTS AUTHORITY AND THE MOTOR ACCIDENTS COUNCIL

The NSW Parliament's Standing Committee on Law and Justice today tabled its report on its Seventh Review of the exercise of the functions of the Motor Accidents Authority (MAA) and the Motor Accidents Council (MAC).

The Committee is designated under the *Motor Accidents Compensation Act 1999* (NSW) to review the exercise of the functions of the MAA and the MAC annually.

The Chair of the Committee, the Hon Christine Robertson MLC, said, "This year's review marks a departure from previous reviews, with the Committee making a broad public call for submissions, engaging in a detailed questions on notice process with the MAA and hearing from a wider range of stakeholders at the public hearing in March. Consequently, the scope of subjects covered in this review has been comprehensive and the Committee has had the benefit of considered written and oral submissions from a range of participants."

Ms Robertson continued, "The Committee is of the view that the MAA and the MAC continue to perform their functions under the *Motor Accidents Compensation Act 1999* in a competent and effective manner. Of importance to NSW motorists, CTP premiums have continued to fall, both in dollar terms and as a percentage of weekly earnings."

"However, the inquiry process has uncovered several areas of possible improvement and the Committee has made 22 recommendations to that effect," Ms Robertson added.

"I would like to thank all those who participated in this year's review, particularly senior officers of the MAA and the MAC and those in the non-government sector who assisted the Committee with their submissions. I hope that the positive relationship between the Motor Accidents Authority and the Committee continues into the future," Ms Robertson said.

Further information about the inquiry including copies of the report can be obtained from the Committee Secretariat on tel (02) 9230 3311, fax (02) 9230 3371, e-mail: <u>lawandjustice@parliament.nsw.gov.au</u> or website: <u>www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/lawand</u> justice.

For further comment please contact the Hon Christine Robertson MLC, Committee Chair, on 0428674310 or 9230 3044