

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES

MODERN SLAVERY COMMITTEE

MEDIA RELEASE

MODERN SLAVERY COMMITTEE TO HOLD SECOND HEARING ON RISKS FACED BY TEMPORARY MIGRANT WORKERS IN RURAL AND REGIONAL NEW SOUTH WALES

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 30 May 2025

The NSW Parliament's Modern Slavery Committee will hold its second hearing on Monday 2 June 2025 at NSW Parliament, as part of its inquiry into modern slavery risks faced by temporary migrant workers in rural and regional New South Wales.

The committee will hear from local governments, including representatives from Murray River, Leeton Shire and Wagga Wagga City Councils, as well as industry groups, unions, academics, Pacific community representatives, and religious organisations that work with victim-survivors of modern slavery.

The committee will also take evidence from the New South Wales Women's Safety Commissioner from the Department of Communities and Justice.

Dr Joe McGirr MP, Committee Chair stated: 'This hearing offers a vital opportunity to hear from those who work closely with, and are directly impacted by, modern slavery practices in rural and regional communities, including those in relevant industries such as agriculture and meat processing.'

'It also provides an opportunity to gain invaluable insight into the current experiences of temporary migrant workers and ways to strengthen protections for these groups'.

Tuning into the hearing

The hearing will be open to the public and live streamed on the NSW Parliament's website: https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/Pages/webcasts.aspx

Engaging with the committee

Submissions from organisations closed at the end of February 2025 but remain open for individuals with lived experience who wish to share their experience in writing with the committee. Individuals can make a submission by emailing modernslavery@parliament.nsw.gov.au.

Resources on the inquiry webpage include the inquiry's terms of reference and a guide to help people with lived experience share their experience in writing. These have been translated into the following

languages: Dari; Pashto; Urdu; Hazaragi; Persian (Farsi); Turkish; Arabic; Tamil; Bislama; Fijian; Chinese (Mandarin); and Korean.

For further information about the inquiry, including the translated terms of reference and submission guide, please visit the committee's <u>website</u>.

-ENDS-

For further information please contact Committee Chair, Dr Joe McGirr MP, on (02) 6921 1622.