

PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## Parliamentary inquiry into the Senior Trade and Investment Commissioner appointment process tables its final report

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

27 February 2023

The Upper House Public Accountability Committee today handed down its final report into the Senior Trade and Investment Commissioners (STIC) appointment process, which included the appointment of former Deputy Premier John Barilaro as STIC to the Americas.

Cate Faehrmann MLC, Chair of the Public Accountability Committee, stated "This report is the conclusion of the inquiry into NSW Government's flawed STIC appointment process, which focused on the appointment of Mr Stephen Cartwright as Agent General UK and STIC Europe and Israel".

Ms Faehrmann continued, "This report revealed a similar pattern of inappropriate Ministerial interference in what was supposed to be a merit-based public sector process. The committee found that John Barilaro inappropriately interfered in the selection process for the Agent General UK by failing to meet with the preferred candidate and instead directly approaching Stephen Cartwright and soliciting his candidacy. The former Deputy Premier acted inappropriately and displayed poor judgement which ultimately, influenced the appointment process."

The committee also found Mr Cartwright's behaviour as inappropriate given that he repeatedly applied pressure to senior public servants to improve his personal remuneration. Given this behaviour, the committee recommended the Secretary of the Department of Enterprise, Investment and Trade investigate whether Mr Cartwright has at all times abided by the code-of-conduct applicable to the Senior Executive Service.

Ms Faehrmann concluded, "The committee's inquiry revealed how Ministers inappropriately influenced the outcome of the STIC appointments and confirmed the Government's lack of integrity and transparency in appointing who they want to high paying public service positions."

The final report and other inquiry documents can be found on the committee's webpage.

-ENDS-

For further information please contact Committee Chair, Cate Faehrmann, on 0487 247 960 or Ben. Cronly@parliament.nsw.gov.au.