

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

MEDIA RELEASE

Parliamentary inquiry into the NSW Government's management of the COVID-19 pandemic to hold hearing on 11 February 2022

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 10 February 2022

The Upper House committee exploring the state government's handling of the COVID-19 pandemic will hold a virtual inquiry hearing on Friday 11th February 2022. Among other things, the committee will be looking at the reopening of NSW, and the recent pressures placed on the health and aged care sectors.

The Chair of the committee, Mr David Shoebridge MLC, said, "The committee is very pleased that Health Minister Brad Hazzard, Chief Health Officer Dr Kerry Chant and Secretary of NSW Health Elizabeth Koff, have accepted our invitation to discuss the recent management of the COVID-19 pandemic."

The committee will also hear from key stakeholders from aged care services, unions, research and academia.

"This will be the committee's first hearing since September 2021, and in that time NSW has experienced the reopening of borders, the easing of restrictions, and a surge in case numbers, due in large part to the highly transmissible Omicron variant," Mr Shoebridge said. "Since that last hearing, the state has had over a million new infections and tragically lost nearly 1,200 people to COVID-19. This has placed extreme pressure on our health care and age care sectors, along with many other industries. We welcome the opportunity to ask important questions relating to the Minister's handling of the pandemic over the last four months."

Hearing details

The hearing will be held on Friday 11 February commencing at 9.45 am.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions the hearing will not be open to the public, however it will be live streamed on the NSW Parliament's website via <u>bit.ly/webcastnsw</u>.

For further information about the inquiry, including the committee membership, terms of reference, and hearing schedule, please visit the committee's <u>website</u>.

-ENDS-

For further information please contact Committee Chair, Mr David Shoebridge, on 0408 113 952