

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 – TRANSPORT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## FOURTH HEARING FOR THE INQUIRY INTO ROAD TOLLING REGIMES

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 7 December 2021

This week, Portfolio Committee No. 6 – Transport and Customer Service is set to hold its fourth public hearing for its inquiry into the State's road tolling regimes.

Ms Abigail Boyd MLC, Chair of the Committee said, "This inquiry has already laid bare some of the issues with the private concession arrangements that the Government has entered into to finance new motorways, examining whether they indeed deliver value to users. At the committee's forthcoming hearing, we look forward to hearing from Transurban – developer and operator of Sydney's WestConnex, NorthConnex and several other toll roads – as well as the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission."

Ms Boyd continued, "This hearing is particularly timely given the recent acquisition of the remaining share of WestConnex by a consortium which includes Transurban. It's an opportunity to interrogate the rhetoric about public private partnerships for the delivery of road infrastructure and, in particular, whether private and commercial toll road users are in fact getting the purported benefits of using Sydney's toll roads."

The public hearing will be held on **Friday 10 December 2021** commencing at **10.30** am and will be live streamed on the NSW Parliament's website. To tune in to the webcast, go to: <a href="https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/Pages/webcasts.aspx">https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/Pages/webcasts.aspx</a>. The hearing room will remain closed to the public.

For further information about the inquiry, including the committee membership, terms of reference, submissions and hearing schedule (once finalised), please visit the committee's website: <a href="https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/committees/inquiries/Pages/inquiry-details.aspx?pk=2792">https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/committees/inquiries/Pages/inquiry-details.aspx?pk=2792</a>

-ENDS-

For further information, please contact the Committee Chair's office, Ms Abigail Boyd MLC, on (02) 9230 3676.