

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 – TRANSPORT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

MEDIA RELEASE

UPPER HOUSE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS TAXI LICENCE BUYBACK SCHEME

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 8 December 2020

In its report on the point to point transport reforms, an upper house committee has recommended that the NSW Government develop and implement a buyback scheme for the taxi industry.

Portfolio Committee No. 6 – Transport and Customer Service published its report on the operation of the *Point to Point Transport (Taxis and Hire Vehicles) Act 2016* today, concluding that the financial assistance offered to the taxi industry following the entry of rideshare services into the point to point transport market and the subsequent reforms has been insufficient.

Committee Chair, Ms Abigail Boyd MLC, said: "The committee heard many stories from individual taxi owners on the impact the reforms have had on their financial situation and their retirement funds. The committee recommended a buyback scheme as the NSW Government needs to do more to help alleviate the financial distress experienced by these individuals, and to help provide capital in the taxi industry to allow it to compete effectively in the point to point transport space."

The committee also believed that the reforms failed to deliver a level playing field between the taxi industry and rideshare industry, with the reforms favouring rideshare services.

"A common theme which emerged in this inquiry was that the reforms failed to deliver a level playing field between the different industry participants. The taxi industry is made up of a number of smaller businesses and are often competing with larger multinational companies in the rideshare space. The government should work towards levelling this playing field."

The committee also made recommendations in relation to the employment relationship between rideshare drivers and their companies, and disability access.

The report is available on the committee's website. A Government response is due on 8 June 2021.

-ENDS-

For further information please contact Committee Chair, Ms Abigail Boyd MLC, on 9230 3676.