

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## MEDIA RELEASE

## TABLING OF REPORT FOR THE WARNERVALE AIRPORT<br/>(RESTRICTIONS) REPEAL BILL 2020

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 16 November 2020

Portfolio Committee No. 7 - Planning and Environment has today tabled its report into the Warnervale Airport (Restrictions) Repeal Bill 2020, a bill awaiting consideration in the Legislative Council.

If passed by Parliament, the bill will immediately remove the daily take off and landing cap for aircraft movements at Warnervale Airport while repealing the *Warnervale Airport (Restrictions) Act 1996* in its entirety at a future point in time.

The Chair of the committee, Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC said: 'This short but important inquiry elicited stakeholder views and perspectives on both sides of the debate, providing valuable input into the committee's deliberations. While many stakeholders expressed support for the bill, some raised significant concerns about any future expansion or redevelopment of the airport. In particular, the committee noted concerns about aircraft noise and its impacts on amenity for residents under the flight path as well as environmental impacts to the ecologically significant Porters Creek Wetland.'

The Chair added: 'On the other hand, inquiry participants that supported the bill were almost unanimous in their views on the *Warnervale Airport (Restrictions) Act 1996*, telling the committee that it was duplicative of other legislation and served no apparent purpose. They pointed to the various environmental and land use zoning constraints in place which, in their view, either prevents or makes it extremely difficult to expand the airport.'

The committee has recommended that the Legislative Council proceed to debate the Warnervale Airport (Restrictions) Repeal Bill 2020 and discuss the concerns identified throughout the inquiry process.

Further information about the inquiry, including the committee's final report, is available on the <u>committee's website</u>.

-ENDS-

For further information, please contact the office of Committee Chair, Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC, on (02) 9230 3771 or 0487 247 960.