

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NET ZERO FUTURE

Inquiry into emissions from the fossil fuel sector

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- (1) That the Joint Standing Committee on Net Zero Future inquire into and report on the scale and nature of current and likely future direct greenhouse gas emissions from fossil fuel projects and related infrastructure in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the relevance and consequences of fossil fuel greenhouse gas emissions for achieving New South Wales emissions reductions targets and complying with the guiding principles and purposes of the Climate Change (Net Zero Future) Act 2023
 - (b) quantification and measurement of coal-mine and gas industry methane and related greenhouse gas emissions in New South Wales including fugitive emissions, in particular:
 - (i) the accuracy of emissions reporting from coal mines and gas fields
 - (ii) the relevance of using a twenty-year versus one-hundred-year global warming potential to assess short term climate impact
 - (iii) current measurement, reporting and verification methods and whether they reflect best practice
 - (c) the transparency, timeliness and integrity of New South Wales' emission modelling and how this modelling is used to inform New South Wales' planning decisions
 - (d) the implementation and feasibility of greenhouse gas abatement, including ventilation air methane (VAM) abatement for coal mining
 - (e) economic costs associated with greenhouse gas emissions including indirect costs from climate change related impacts and opportunity costs for other sectors, and
 - (f) any other related matters.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were self-referred by the committee on 26 June 2025.¹

¹ Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 26 June 2025, item 29.

Committee membership

Hon Jeremy Buckingham MLC	Legalise Cannabis Party	Chair
Ms Liza Butler MP	Australian Labor Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Ms Trish Doyle MP	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
Mr James Griffin MP	Liberal Party	
Ms Sue Higginson MLC	The Greens	
Hon Jacqui Munro MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Cameron Murphy MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Mr Michael Regan MP	Independent	
Hon Emily Suvaal MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Ms Liesl Tesch MP	Australian Labor Party	