

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON FERTILITY SUPPORT AND ASSISTED REPRODUCTIVE TREATMENT

Inquiry into fertility support and assisted reproductive treatment

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- (1) That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on fertility support and assisted reproductive treatment in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) current supports available for infertility, including for people with relevant health issues such as endometriosis or who are undergoing cancer treatment
 - (b) economic impacts of infertility and assisted reproductive technology
 - (c) education and information available in New South Wales regarding fertility and assisted reproductive technology
 - (d) current supports for families dealing with pregnancy loss, including relevant leave entitlements and mental health support
 - (e) current options for assisted reproduction in New South Wales
 - (f) barriers to accessing assisted reproductive treatment including in vitro fertilization (IVF) technology and surrogacy
 - (g) specific factors that impact access to assisted reproductive treatment in rural and regional New South Wales
 - (h) the regulatory framework for assisted reproductive technology in New South Wales, including the adequacy of safeguards for families and individuals
 - (i) changes to New South Wales government policies and procedures to better support families and surrogates through surrogacy
 - (j) relevant national and international laws that impact on surrogacy arrangements in New South Wales, including consideration of a model national legal framework for surrogacy arrangements, and
 - (k) any other related matter.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 4 June 2025.¹

1

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 4 June 2025, item 30.

Committee membership

| Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC | The Nationals | Chair |
|--------------------------|------------------------|--------------|
| Dr Amanda Cohn MLC | The Greens | Deputy Chair |
| Hon Susan Carter MLC | Liberal Party | |
| Hon Greg Donnelly MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| Hon Emma Hurst MLC | Animal Justice Party | |
| Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| Hon Emily Suvaal MLC | Australian Labor Party | |