

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 5 - JUSTICE AND COMMUNITIES

Inquiry into the illegal tobacco trade

TERMS OF REFERENCE

That Portfolio Committee No. 5 - Justice and Communities inquire into and report on the illegal tobacco trade in New South Wales, and in particular:

- (a) current links between serious and organised crime syndicates and tobacconists, and future trends in crime activities, practices, methods and their impact on society
- (b) the utilisation of money laundering schemes by tobacconists, including the use of automated teller machines (ATMs)
- (c) introduction of legal protections for landlords who lease to tobacconists
- (d) the adequacy of existing legislation and the allocation of departmental responsibility for enforcement, including in other jurisdictions
- (e) review of the resourcing, administrative arrangements and staffing for enforcement in metropolitan and regional New South Wales, including the adequacy of cross-jurisdictional databases to meet current and future needs
- (f) the impact of the tobacco trade on small businesses and communities in regional New South Wales
- (g) the impact of prohibition on organisations that profit from illegal or over-regulated products
- (h) communities and groups that are disproportionately impacted by changes in the supply and regulation of products, and
- (i) any other related matter.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 7 May 2025.¹

¹ Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 7 May 2025, item 33.

Committee membership

Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Chair
Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC*	Liberal Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC*	The Greens	
Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Cameron Murphy MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Nichole Overall MLC	The Nationals	

^{*} Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC substituted for the Ms Sue Higginson MLC from 7 May 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.

^{*} Mrs Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC was elected Acting Deputy Chair of the committee on 19 May 2025 for the duration of the inquiry.