

## PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 1 – PREMIER AND FINANCE

## Inquiry into the impact of the regulatory framework for cannabis in New South Wales

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 1 Premier and Finance inquire into and report on the impact of the regulatory framework for cannabis in New South Wales, including:
  - (a) the historical development and implementation of the regulatory framework for cannabis
  - (b) the socioeconomic impact of the current regulatory framework for cannabis
  - (c) the historical, current and future financial cost of cannabis prohibition to the Government and the economy
  - (d) the impact of the current regulatory framework for cannabis on young people, the health system, personal health, employment, road safety, crime and the criminal justice system
  - (e) the impact of the regulatory framework for cannabis on Aboriginal, LGBTIQA+, regional, multicultural and lower socioeconomic communities
  - (f) alternative approaches to the regulatory framework for cannabis in other jurisdictions
  - (g) the provisions of the Drug Misuse and Trafficking Amendment (Regulation of Personal Adult Use of Cannabis) Bill 2023, and
  - (h) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report by 26 September 2024.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 20 March 2024.<sup>1</sup>

## Committee membership

Hon Jeremy Buckingham MLC Legalise Cannabis Party Chair Hon Robert Borsak MLC Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party Deputy Chair Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC\* The Greens Hon Dr Sarah Kaine MLC Australian Labor Party Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC Australian Labor Party Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC\* Liberal Party Hon Jacqui Munro MLC\* Liberal Party

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 20 March 2024, p 1017.

Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party
Hon John Ruddick MLC*	Libertarian Party

- \* Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC is a participating member from 22 March 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.
- \* The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC substituted for the Hon Damien Tudehope MLC from 28 March 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.
- \* The Hon Jacqui Munro MLC substituted for the Hon Chris Rath MLC from 27 March 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.
- \* The Hon John Ruddick MLC is a participating member from 25 March 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.