

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 - TRANSPORT AND THE ARTS

Inquiry into the impact of the Rozelle Interchange

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 6 Transport and the Arts inquire into and report on the impact of the Rozelle Interchange, and in particular:
 - (a) the planning, design and development of the Rozelle Interchange project and its impact on traffic flow, including the prioritisation of traffic from toll roads including WestConnex over local traffic
 - (b) all traffic modelling that was undertaken, including for WestConnex, all surrounding arterial roads and all local roads
 - (c) design decisions that restricted or compromised traffic flows, including any changes from the original plans or modelling
 - (d) the planning, design and development of the Rozelle Interchange project and its impact on the efficient and on-time running of buses, ferries and all other public transport
 - (e) the communication and consultation processes undertaken by Transport for NSW and other relevant stakeholders throughout the lifespan of the Rozelle Interchange Project
 - (f) the social, environmental and economic impacts of the Rozelle Interchange project on impacted communities
 - (g) the impact on foot traffic and active transport options, including due to the closure of Rozelle Parklands
 - (h) the cause of asbestos detected in the Rozelle Parklands and the adequacy and appropriateness of the responses by government agencies and contractors to reports of asbestos in and near the Parklands
 - (i) solutions to ease the congestion and gridlock that the opening of the Rozelle Interchange has created, including the impact of the Western Harbour Tunnel after opening
 - (j) the adequacy of Transport for NSW planning, resource allocation and public communication in the period leading to and directly after the opening of the Rozelle Interchange
 - (k) the cost of the Rozelle Interchange and the total cost of WestConnex
 - (l) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report by 20 June 2024.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 7 February 2024.¹

Committee membership	

Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Sam Farraway MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Dr Sarah Kaine MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Natalie Ward MLC	Liberal Party	

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 7 February 2024, pp 884-887.