

#### LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PRIVILEGES COMMITTEE

# Inquiry into the provisions of the Parliamentary Evidence Act 1901

#### TERMS OF REFERENCE

### That:

- (a) this House notes that in its report entitled "Allegations of impropriety against agents of the Hills Shire Council and property developers in the region", dated March 2023, Portfolio Committee No 7 Planning and Environment recommended that, at the beginning of the 58th Parliament, the NSW Legislative Council refer an inquiry into the Parliamentary Evidence Act 1901 to the Privileges Committee, with a view to identifying amendments to ensure it is fit for purpose and modernised, including in relation to the summoning of witnesses, and
- (b) the provisions of the Parliamentary Evidence Act 1901 be referred to the Privileges Committee for inquiry and report, with a view to identifying amendments to ensure it is fit for purpose and modernised, including in relation to the summoning of witnesses.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 20 September 2023. <sup>1</sup>

## Committee membership<sup>2</sup>

Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC	Australian Labor Party	(Chair)
Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	(Deputy Chair)
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC*	The Greens	
Ms Sue Higginson MLC	The Greens	
Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Peter Primrose MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Rod Roberts MLC	Pauline Hanson's One Nation	
Hon Damien Tudehope MLC**	Liberal Party	

<sup>\*</sup> Ms Abigail Boyd is a participating member from 22 September 2023 for the duration of the inquiry.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The Hon Damien Tudehope MLC substituted for the Hon Wes Fang MLC from 2 April 2024 for the duration of the inquiry.

<sup>1</sup> Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 20 September 2023, pp 508-509.

On 28 May 2025, the House resolved to amend the resolution establishing the Privileges Committee to reduce the total number of members from 8 to 7, of which 3 were government members. Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 28 May 2025, pp 2384-2385. Nominations for government membership were received on 4 June 2025, being the Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC, the Hon Bob Nanva MLC and the Hon Peter Primrose MLC. The Hon Cameron Murphy MLC was a member from 23 May 2023 to 28 May 2025.