

PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY AND WORKS COMMITTEE

Inquiry into the appointments of Josh Murray to the position of Secretary of Transport for NSW and Emma Watts as NSW Cross-Border Assistant Commissioner, and Senior Executives and Department Liaison Officers in 2023

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That the Public Accountability and Works Committee inquire into and report on the appointments of Josh Murray to the position of Secretary of Transport for NSW and Emma Watts as NSW Cross-Border Assistant Commissioner, and Senior Executives and Department Liaison Officers in 2023, and in particular:
 - (a) the circumstances leading up to the appointments
 - (b) the process undertaken to make the appointments
 - (c) the probity and integrity measures that were undertaken as part of the appointments
 - (d) the principles, public expectations and requirements for appointments to the public service by Ministers
 - (e) the process for the appointment of senior officers generally
 - (f) the appointment, actions, duties and responsibilities of Department Liaison Officers seconded to ministerial offices
 - (g) the creation of transition offices in the Government
 - (h) other matters related to senior executive appointments at Transport for NSW, and
 - (i) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report by 20 May 2024.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 23 August 2023 and updated on 22 November 2023.¹

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 23 August 2023, pp 392-396; Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 22 November 2023, p 685-687.

Committee membership

Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Scott Farlow MLC	Liberal Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Dr Sarah Kaine MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Mark Latham MLC	Independent	
Hon Peter Primrose MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Natalie Ward MLC*	Liberal Party	

^{*} The Hon Natalie Ward MLC substituted for the Hon Bronnie Taylor MLC from 1 December 2023 for the duration of the inquiry. The Hon Natalie Ward MLC substituted for the Hon Scott Farlow MLC from 24 August 2023 to 30 November 2023.