

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PRIVILEGES COMMITTEE

Inquiry into the review of Independent Complaints Officer system (2023)

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- (1) That, in accordance with paragraph 10 of the resolution of the House establishing the Independent Complaints Officer, the Privileges Committee review the operation of the Independent Complaints Officer system and associated investigations protocol tabled on 17 November 2022, and whether any changes are needed, and in particular:
 - (a) the confidentiality provisions applying in respect of complaints and investigations under the system,
 - (b) the timeliness of complaints assessments and investigations conducted under the system, and
 - (c) the provisions applying with respect to standing for complaints and retrospectivity under the system.
- (2) That, in undertaking the review:
 - (a) the committee consider the recommendations of the Independent Review of Bullying, Sexual Harassment and Sexual Misconduct at NSW Parliament Workplaces, commonly referred to as the Broderick Review, in relation to the role of the Independent Complaints Officer, the Code of Conduct for Members, training for members and any other related matter,
 - (b) in accordance with Standing Order 226(a), the committee have leave to take evidence, deliberate and make joint reports with the Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Parliamentary Privilege and Ethics, and
 - (c) the committee consult the President, the Clerk and other key stakeholders as appropriate.

Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC	Australian Labor Party	(Chair)
Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	(Deputy Chair)
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
Ms Sue Higginson MLC	The Greens	
Hon Cameron Murphy MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Peter Primrose MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Rod Roberts MLC	Independent	

Committee membership