

## PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 – TRANSPORT AND THE ARTS

## Inquiry into the current and future public transport needs in Western Sydney

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 6 Transport and the Arts inquire into and report on the current and future public transport needs for Western Sydney, and in particular:
  - (a) the availability and accessibility of public transport services across Western Sydney, the adequacy of connectivity between public transport hubs and commercial hubs and any gaps in services
  - (b) the current and anticipated levels of demand for public transport services and the public transport requirements to meet this demand
  - (c) the changing nature of public transport needs due to shifting demographics, new suburbs, planned infrastructure and increased density
  - (d) the social, economic and planning impacts of vehicle dependency and poorly integrated public transport
  - (e) the affordability compared with other areas of Greater Sydney and New South Wales and relative to means
  - (f) the role of public transport and future transport technologies to reduce car dependency in Western Sydney, including barriers to improving public transport services
  - (g) the role of the public and private sector, including local government and the use of innovative funding models, such as transit oriented development and value capture mechanisms, in public transport provision
  - (h) the staffing and future workforce planning, taking into account predicted service demand based on predicted population growth in Western Sydney
  - (i) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report by 30 April 2024.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The original reporting date was 29 March 2024 (Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 22 August 2023, p 376). The reporting date was later extended to 30 April 2024.

## Committee membership

Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Sam Farraway MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Dr Sarah Kaine MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Bob Nanva MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Natalie Ward MLC	Liberal Party	