SELECT COMMITTEE ON BIRTH TRAUMA

Inquiry into birth trauma

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on birth trauma, and in particular:
 - (a) the experience and prevalence of birth trauma (including, but not limited to, as a result of inappropriate, disrespectful or abusive treatment before, during and after birth, also referred to as "obstetric violence")
 - (b) causes and factors contributing to birth trauma including:
 - (i) evaluation of current practices in obstetric care
 - (ii) use of instruments and devices for assisted birth e.g., forceps and ventouse
 - (iii) the availability of, and systemic barriers to, trauma-informed care being provided during pregnancy, during birth and following birth
 - (c) the physical, emotional, psychological, and economic impacts of birth trauma, including both short and long term impacts on patients and their families and health workers
 - (d) exacerbating factors in delivering and accessing maternity care that impact on birth trauma generally, but also in particular:
 - (i) people in regional, rural and remote New South Wales
 - (ii) First Nations people
 - (iii) people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds
 - (iv) LGBTQIA+ people
 - (v) young parents
 - (e) the role and importance of "informed choice" in maternity care
 - (f) barriers to the provision of "continuity of care" in maternity care
 - (g) the information available to patients regarding maternity care options prior to and during their care
 - (h) whether current legal and regulatory settings are sufficient to protect women from experiencing birth trauma
 - (i) any legislative, policy or other reforms likely to prevent birth trauma, and
 - (j) any other related matter.

2. That the committee report by 3 June 2024.¹

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 21 June 2023.²

Committee membership

Hon Emma Hurst MLC	Animal Justice Party	Chair
Hon Susan Carter MLC	Liberal Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	
Dr Amanda Cohn MLC	The Greens	_
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC	The Nationals	_
Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC*	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Emily Suvaal MLC	Australian Labor Party	

^{*} The Hon Stephen Lawrence MLC replaced the Hon Greg Donnelly MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 16 May 2024.

The original reporting date was 1 February 2024 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 21 June 2023, pp 208-211). The reporting date was later extended to 3 June 2024 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 12 September 2023, p 435).

² Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 21 June 2023, pp 208-211.