PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 3 – EDUCATION

Inquiry into teacher shortages in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 3 Education inquire into and report on teacher shortages in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) current teacher shortages in NSW schools,
 - (b) future teacher supply and demand,
 - (c) out-of-area teaching, merged classes and minimal supervision in NSW schools,
 - (d) the NSW Teacher Supply Strategy,
 - (e) teaching workforce conditions,
 - (f) Initial Teacher Education,
 - (g) impacts related to COVID-19, including the impact of government responses such as remote teaching and safety restrictions,
 - (h) the impact of workplace mandates,
 - (i) the status of the teaching profession,
 - (j) the impacts of the Staffing Agreement on the ability of principals to effectively staff schools and manage performance,
 - (k) the administrative burden for principals associated with recruiting for and appointing roles,
 - (l) the impact of central appointments prioritisation for teaching and principal roles,
 - (m) support for principals to effectively staff schools above base allocation,
 - (n) the impacts of incentives and the transfer point system on regional shortages,
 - (o) the approval to teach process in New South Wales,
 - (p) the impact of casualisation, temporary contracts and job insecurity,
 - (q) the measurement of staff turnover particularly in regard to temporary staff, and
 - (r) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by 8 November 2022.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were self-referred by the committee on 15 June 2022.

Committee membership

| Hon Mark Latham MLC | Pauline Hanson's One Nation | Chair |
|---------------------------|-----------------------------|--------------|
| Hon Wes Fang MLC | The Nationals | Deputy Chair |
| Ms Abigail Boyd MLC | The Greens | |
| Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| Hon Scott Farlow MLC | Liberal Party | |
| Hon Courtney Houssos MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC* | Liberal Party | |

^{*} The Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC replaced the Hon Catherine Cusack MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 16 August 2022. The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 9 August 2022.