

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL ISSUES

Inquiry into homelessness amongst older people aged over 55 in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That the Standing Committee on Social Issues inquire into and report on homelessness amongst older people aged over 55 in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the rate of homelessness,
 - (b) factors affecting the incidence of homelessness,
 - (c) opportunities for early intervention to prevent homelessness,
 - (d) services to support older people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness, including housing assistance, social housing and specialist homelessness services,
 - (e) challenges that older people experience navigating homelessness services,
 - (f) examples of best-practice approaches in Australia and internationally to prevent and address homelessness amongst older people,
 - (g) options to better support older people to obtain and maintain secure accommodation and avoid homelessness,
 - (h) the adequacy of the collection of data on older people experiencing or at risk of homelessness and opportunities to improve such collection,
 - (i) the impact of homelessness on the health and wellbeing of older people and the related costs to the health system,
 - (j) the specific impact of homelessness, including the matters raised above, on older women,
 - (k) the impact of homelessness, including the increased risk of homelessness in the community, on older people in vulnerable groups, and
 - (l) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by 20 October 2022.¹

The terms of reference for the inquiry were referred by the Legislative Council on 23 March 2022.²

The original reporting date was 30 September 2022 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 23 March 2022, pp 3056-3057). The reporting date was later extended to 20 October 2022 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 11 August 2022, p 3587).

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 23 March 2022, pp 3056-3057.

Committee membership

Hon Scott Barrett MLC*	The Nationals	Chair
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	
Hon Rose Jackson MLC**	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Taylor Martin MLC***	Liberal Party	
Revd The Hon Fred Nile MLC	Independent	
Hon Peter Primrose MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Chris Rath MLC****	Liberal Party	

- * The Hon Scott Barrett MLC was appointed Chair of the committee on 29 March 2022.
- ** The Hon Rose Jackson MLC substituted for the Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC for the duration of the inquiry on 5 April 2022.
- *** The Hon Taylor Martin MLC substituted for the Hon Scott Farlow MLC from 21 June 2022 for the duration of the inquiry. The Hon Scott Farlow MLC replaced the Hon Taylor Martin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 29 March 2022.
- **** The Hon Chris Rath MLC became a substantive member of the committee on 29 March 2022.